A Big Day

When I was 14 years old, my family travelled to Boston for summer vacation.  I was young, impressionable, and in love with the idea of Harvard.  I even bought one of those t-shirts that say “Hah-vard” and wore it proudly my freshmen year of High School.  On that trip, I saw a penny on the sidewalk of Mass Ave, and as the saying goes, “pick it up and all day long you’ll have good luck.”  I still have that penny, marked like a 14-year old would do with red nail polish, and stuck quietly into a little plastic jar at the bottom of a drawer.

On Thursday, February 18th, I was reminded of that penny as I spoke at Memorial Church’s Morning Prayer service, and reflected on my family, my childhood, and what it means to work for the Graduate Commons Program.  A big day for 14-year old me (who is still in here somewhere),  indeed!

With gratitude,

Lisa 

 

